ELIZABETH CITY, N.C. – Transferring to Elizabeth City State University (ECSU) from the College of the Albemarle (COA) is now easier than ever thanks to three new memorandums of understanding (MOU) signed by both institutions on Thursday.

In a brief ceremony, ECSU Provost Farrah Ward and COA President Jack Bagwell signed two bilateral agreements – one for the Bachelor of Science in Aviation Science with a concentration in Professional Aeronautics and the other for the Bachelor of Science in Aviation Science with a concentration in Aviation Management. The agreements will make it easier for COA students who earn their Associate in Applied Science in Aviation Systems Technology and have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 on a 4.0 scale to be admitted to ECSU.

“In 2019 when we were signing articulation agreements with community colleges, Chancellor Dixon and Provost Ward asked, ‘What can we do with COA’,” said Kuldeep Rawat, dean of the School of Science, Aviation, Health, and Technology.

“I’m glad we are finally here today to be able to sign the agreements,” he said.

The connection between the aviation programs at both institutions runs deep. COA students are instrumental in the mechanical maintenance of the aircraft in the ECSU Viking Fleet.

"We're not in competition with one another; we're in partnership,” said President Bagwell. “These agreements signify our dedication to fostering seamless pathways for student success and strengthening our relationship with Elizabeth City State University."

The third document signed was the Viking Advantage Agreement, an admissions and advising partnership between the two institutions designed to improve transfer student access and success through a collaborative baccalaureate degree program for all programs at ECSU.

Viking Advantage is designed to support the ECSU’s ongoing commitment to improving access to baccalaureate degree programs for as many students as possible. This program will offer up to 10 COA transfer students $1,000 scholarships per year.  Other benefits for all Viking Advantage students include:

  • Access to ECSU transfer admissions counselors at COA
  • Improved transfer retention and graduation rates
  • A seamless degree completion pathway
  • Improved efficiency to degree completion
  • Removal of barriers to student success
  • Optimization of student services and resources
  • Preparing students for success in a global workforce
  • Strengthening the existing partnership between the institutions

COA students who meet the Viking Advantage program requirements will also have guaranteed admission to ECSU upon completion of an Associate in Arts, an Associate in Science, an Associate in Arts in Teacher Preparation, an Associate in Science in Teacher Preparation, an Associate in Fine Arts, or an Associate of Applied Science in which ECSU and COA have an established bilateral agreement. 

“COA has long-been our closest community college partner and today’s signing demonstrates ECSU’s commitment to ensuring COA students have access to a quality, affordable education,” Ward said.

For more information about ECSU’s Aviation Science programs, visit www.ecsu.edu/academics/undergrad/aviation, or contact Robin Mangham, ECSU program coordinator, at rrmangham@ecsu.edu or 252-335-3656.

To learn more about the COA’s Aviation Systems Technology program, visit www.albemarle.edu/aviation or contact David Repanshek, COA instructor and program coordinator, at david_repanshek13@albemarle.edu or 252-453-3035, ext. 8115.


About Elizabeth City State University
Elizabeth City State University provides students with a high-quality, affordable education. A constituent member of the University of North Carolina System, ECSU develops courageous, resilient, and empowered leaders through excellent student-centered, experiential learning. ECSU offers baccalaureate, professional, and master’s degrees across a wide variety of disciplines. Come to Discover. Leave to Conquer. Visit www.ecsu.edu for more information.

About College of the Albemarle
College of The Albemarle (COA) serves as the regional community college for Northeastern North Carolina, fostering educational excellence at the heart of the communities we proudly serve. With a rich and expansive history, COA offers accessible, high-quality education to students across Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank and Perquimans counties. Our four campuses, strategically located throughout the region, reflect our commitment to student success. At COA, we empower individuals, transforming lives and shaping the future of our region. Discover your potential with College of The Albemarle, where education meets opportunity.