Elizabeth City State University Logo
National Alumni Association

Forty Under Forty

Forty Under Forty Alumni Awards Luncheon

The Elizabeth City State University Office of Alumni Relations and Engagement’s Forty Under Forty Alumni Awards Luncheon recognizes young alumni who have made significant contributions in the arts, entertainment, healthcare, sciences, education, law, business, entrepreneurship, philanthropy, public service or government. The Forty Under Forty Alumni Awards was created to engage, re-engage, educate, honor and develop the next generation of advocates, donors and ambassadors for ECSU. Since its founding, ECSU has produced alumni who have made a lasting impact in their communities and the world. Honorees are selected by a committee of their peers, with support and assistance from university faculty and staff.


Established in 2018, the Office of Alumni Relations and Engagement recognizes 40 emerging leaders under the age of 40 biannually who have made significant impacts in business, research, leadership, public service or philanthropic endeavors. By connecting their achievements back to their ECSU roots. The goal is to develop the next generation of ECSU advocates, donors and ambassadors. The Forty Under Forty Awards spotlights 40 selected alumni under 40 across a variety of vocations for being exceptional leaders.


Sponsorship & Underwriting Opportunities

  • Four (4) Luncheon tickets with seating in a prominent location 
  • On-screen recognition at the luncheon
  • Recognition on the website and in the luncheon souvenir booklet
  • Verbal recognition from the podium during the 40 Under 40 Luncheon
  • Two (2) Luncheon tickets 
  • Recognition on the website and in the luncheon souvenir booklet
  • Ads for the sale of specific goods or services will not be accepted.
  • Ads will be displayed in color in the digital souvenir booklet as submitted, please proof your ad before submitting.
  • The sponsorship and operations committee reserves the right to refuse publication of any ad that is deemed inappropriate.
  • Ads must be submitted electronically and ready to print without the need for additional edits.
  • All ads must be camera-ready and sent electronically no later than April 11, 2022 to ecsufoundation@ecsu.edu for inclusion in the program booklet.
    Full Page Color Ad - $300.00
    Half Page Color Ad - $200.00


    Color and Ink

    • Convert all colors to 4-color process (CMYK) — all photos, logos, graphics and type
    • PMS/spot and RGB colors are not accepted. Convert all color elements to CMYK.


    Accepted Formats

    Portable Document Format (PDF) - PREFERRED

    • PDF images with 300 DPI resolution
    • All fonts embedded
    • Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPG or JPEG)
    • JPG with 300 DPI resolution
    • CMYK color mode


    Microsoft Publisher (PUB, PUBX), Microsoft Word (DOC, DOCX) and Microsoft PowerPoint (PPT, PPTX) files will not be accepted. Save/export PUB, DOC and PPT files as PDF for submission.

    Faxed ads will not be accepted.


    Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPG or JPEG)

    • JPG with 300 DPI resolution
    • CMYK color mode


Past Nominees

Gregory Ackles, Jr. ’03

Branden Germaine Anderson ’03

Sheba Starlette Andrews ’03

General Irvin Barrett ’03

Karman Lee Battle ’11

Jeffery Billups, II ’05

Tanya Marie Blackshear-Arellano ’03

Andrew Robert Brumfield ’13

Garry Cameron ’08

Tony Lee Coley ’12

Javon Cordell Copeland ’16

Darrin Corbin ’16

Alesha J Covington ’08

Constance Fleming Davenport ’06

J'Vonn Davis ’11

Krystal Michele Harris ’03

Valerie Edwards Henderson ’14

Marcus Andre Hilliard ’04

Marion Hudson ’12

Gerry N. Jackson, Jr. ’08 

Brandon Dean Johnson ’12

Wade Javon Johnson ’06

Brandon Jones ’15

Aletea Joosten ’04

Courtnay Jordan ’05

Corey Kellam ’13

Julian M. Lee ’09

Brandi Nicole Matthews ’09

Jason A. Mitchell ’02

Micaela Morris ’07

Torrey B. Nowell ’09

Ronald Q. Nixon, II ’06

James Donte Prayer ’20

Keith O. Richardson ’03

Malone Cortez Silver ’12

Rena Spellman ’11

Bryan Spence ’09

Quinnesha Staton ’03

Jessica D. Tabb-Jones ’12

Shante Nicole Trumpet ’07 

Mikel Brabham '01 Julia Madison '08
Sabrina M. Brown '04 Joshua Mallory '07,'13
Demetrius Deloatch '15 Kevin Marshall '09
Kodi Fleming '04 Jaime Mercer '06
Trevei Foreman '12 Kristynna Oliver-Smith '08
James Futrell Jr. '10 Brian Overton '04
Jason Griffin '13 Tania Overton '08
Michael Hoffler '09 Adriane Patterson Walker '01
Sherri Horner Lawrence '02 Jonas Pope, IV '02
Damika Howard-Wayne '11 Nadia Rhodes '09
Taneshia Jernigan '15 Jason W. Richardson '01
Nina Jones Griffin '01,'18 Ja'Naye "Jay Cee" Ruffin '14
Richard Jowers '12 Barbara Sutton '04
Tre'ona Kelty-Jacobs '05 Crystal Waters '09
Kevin Leonard '07
Shekeria Smith Barnes '00 Brian Keith Phelps '00
Emanuel L. Basnight Jr. '02 Alysha K. Purvis '13
Enoch D. Bond '04 Glasher S. Robinson '11
Mike Brown '09 Lionel Ray Robinson '10
Gregory Burgess '03 Lance N. Sanders '11
Bryce Lennon Carmichael '09 Lia Scott '12
Steven D. Carter '09 Shakia O. Seabrook '11
Brandon La'Mont Cobb '11 Jenelle Simpson '02
Lynell Patrese Coston '99 Courtney Slaughter '14
Peter M. Eley '00 Ebony Sneed '00
Charity M. Fisher '08 Alicia Nicole Clayvon Stokley '14
Jasper L. Fleming '09 Mckinley Strother '16
Anthony B. Garrett '10 Timothy C. Summers '06
Julian Hoggard '08 Illiana Thomas '10,'12
Natasha Coley Holley '03 Justin L. Waddell '14
Oliver Andrew Holley '01 Kevin Jemar Wade '02
Darrien J. Jerman '08 A'Lelianne Warren '08
Jeremy T. Jones '13 Jeremy Lionel Whidbee '10
Tremaine Kwasikpui '08 Darrius Devon Wiggins '03
Trequita D. Overton '99 Canisha L. Young '15


Office of Alumni Relations

Marion D. Thorpe Administration Bldg.